Fighting Fluorescents

A LITTLE OF LIFE OUTSIDE THE WORKPLACE

Another Knee Problem

Leave a comment

This isn’t my first time with knee pain, or posting about it, but I thought people should be informed and maybe this post will help someone who feels the same thing.

I’m very active, and I love to accomplish new fitness and health goals. Not HUGE things all the time, but things that are meaningful for me. But, some things can get in the way for people like me, and the biggest for me is injury. I’ve self-diagnosed myself with patellar tendonitis, which leaves the bottom/front of your knee in constant pain. Things I avoid thanks to it:

  • Running
  • Lower body weight training
  • Jumping
  • Walking down stairs
  • Standing for extended periods of time
  • Dancing

That is not ok. I am 25 – I should be able to do all of these things without a second thought. I was a long distance runner just over a year ago, I was training lower body constantly, I was a cheerleader for a large portion of my life, and I go out with friends a lot, which usually involves standing and dancing. I’ve been cautious about doing all of these – that’s pretty crappy.

So, I’ve been researching and trying to determine some treatment. RICE alone isn’t working. Today I looked into slant board squats, and with the help of my dad’s handy-man skills and willingness to build me one, I’m going to start putting it to use. You can buy them at sports places, or your gym probably has one. It is the same thing used for calf stretching.

Here are articles I found helpful, and I hope that maybe this helps someone out there feeling limited from the same thing:

This guy tried everything, and then the slant board: http://www.myfivefingers.com/knee-exercise/

Eccentric Exercises and Stretching: http://www.ehow.com/way_5339904_eccentric-exercises-patellar-tendinitis.html

Medical Article stating squats are better if not as effective as surgery: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16882889

DIY Slant Board: http://return2fitness.net/blog/slant-board-buy-new-or-build-one-yourself

Hope this helps! Have you been suffering from the same thing, or any other injuries?

I'd love to hear from you!

