Fighting Fluorescents

A LITTLE OF LIFE OUTSIDE THE WORKPLACE

Things that need to STOP

1 Comment

Ok, I have been furiously scouring blogs and stores for the past month – I love that fall is coming up, but I live in Georgia. It is still like, 90 degrees here, seriously!

But besides this opening fact, there are a few things I have been continuously noticing/seeing that just make me cringe a bit. 

1. Sheer Tops/ Peek-A-Boo Bras

I’m over it, and unfortunately my closet is full of them. I should really buy shirts that cover up my undergarments, not show them up. Apparently the new “trend” is to have peek-a-boo bras. They did a story on this on Good Morning America, and I laughed, out loud, at how absolutely ridiculous this looked. The newscaster, goes “It looks like you forgot your shirt” – yes, yes it does. 

I also hate how all the time, when I am shopping, I cannot find even black shirts that aren’t sheer. I just want to find something appropriate here people, is that too much to ask for H&M, fab’rik, Dress Up, Forever 21 etc…??

2. 3.1 Phillip Lim for Target

It’s like buying a knock off, and people were FIGHTING each other last Sunday for a new bag. Y’all, everyone knows where you got it, how much you paid, and it’s not the actual 3.1 Phillip Lim originals. It’s Target, c’mon… I love Target, but some brands should just stay how they are and not offer the “every-person” options. It’s like buying a cubic zirconia ring instead of a diamond one. By the way, I actually gave it a chance and tried on some pieces. I was pretty disappointed in the high price/low quality. Designer’s names are everything apparently.

3. Making shirts/dresses/blouses for 12 year old girls. 

My body is a Medium in most things, and then my boobs, which are pretty normal I think, don’t fit. Do you know how frustrating that makes me feel? Designers, you’re making me think I’m fat by only fitting your 100 lb, 5’8″ models – just stop. Be real. 

Ok, rant over. 

One more thing – my boyfriend asked me if my style was “blouse” the other day. Proceed to smack my hand on forehead… haha

 

One thought on “Things that need to STOP

  1. Haha.. I TOTALLY agree about the Phillip Lim thing. I thought I was the only one. 😉 Hilarious.

    xoxo

    Kelly
    kellyinthecity.com

I'd love to hear from you!

