Fighting Fluorescents

A LITTLE OF LIFE OUTSIDE THE WORKPLACE

Financial Freak

Leave a comment

I keep an expense estimate Excel sheet – it helps, a lot, but I still always seem so broke?! Does everyone else my age go through this? I’m in the midst of trying to save, trying to have fun, and paying off my credit card debt too. The next few weeks will be a little bit of a struggle:

– Mom’s birthday

– Father’s Day

– Brother’s birthday

– Out of town wedding (semi-formal, meaning I need to buy a dress)

– Beach trip with bf’s family

That’s a lot of events and traveling to pack into one month!

I’m also trying to be completely clean until next week when all of the festivities begin. Here is my “menu” for the week:

Meal 1- 4 egg whites, 1/2 grapefruit, 1/2 avocado
Meal 2- 4 tbsp low-fat hummus, 1 cup raw veggies
meal 3- 6 oz. tuna, 1 cup raw veggies, balsamic vinegar, 1/2 avocado
Meal 4- TJ’s handful of almonds, 1/2 grapefruit
Meal 5- 4 oz. tilapia, 1 sweet potato, 1 cup veggies
Looking at the canned fish available, I decided to head to Trader Joe’s as all of the Sunkist, Bumble Bee and whatever else was sitting at Kroger had the ingredient “Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate”
What is it? It is a chelating agent, that gives you that binded tuna, so it all stays together basically. Still, I’d rather avoid it. Here is a more in-depth look at it. My favorite is “remove iron stains in leather treatment”… no thanks! Trader Joe’s salmon and tuna had NONE of it listed, which I am happy about, yay! I know I can count on them. haha
Clean Eating again for about 10 days or so… here goes! You may also notice, there is no meat in that list – I’m thinking about going pescetarian for a little, but I still love steak, brats, etc… It’s always more difficult on the weekends, and especially since my mom’s birthday dinner is tomorrow night and father’s day is Sunday. Here’s what my fridge is looking like for the week:
Top Shelf: Garlic, carrots, chopped celery, canned tuna, canned salmon, tilapia filets, hard boiled and normal eggs
Bottom Shelf: Dad’s homemade beer we made in December (still sittin’ there…), carrots, strawberries, 2 different tubs of hummus, celery, grapefruit, green bell peppers
Not Shown: Avocados, lemons, sweet potatoes, almonds, ground flax seed
 Screen Shot 2013-06-10 at 4.02.58 PM
Have you had too much going on but stuck to your clean eating? What do you bring when you travel, especially by plane?
I'd love to hear from you!

