Fighting Fluorescents

A LITTLE OF LIFE OUTSIDE THE WORKPLACE

THE Weekend

Leave a comment

I still have a high going on from this weekend. It was one of those perfect spring, city, music-filled, friend-filled, stop worrying ones.

Floored at The Masquerade

Dave’s band had their first concert together at The Masquerade in Atlanta. I was so impressed! Their set lasted a little over an hour, tons of his friends showed up to support, and after their last song I didn’t want it to end! He has been focused for months – constantly practicing, worrying, and taking the time to really critique himself. All of that hard work paid off – Floored put on a fantastic show (coming from a non-metal head)!

936976_4742789923963_1381288783_n

Not going to lie, it’s been a tough few months since he joined the band – we haven’t been seeing each other as much, he talks about it and stresses about it constantly, and I felt that he was starting to put me in the background. Not on purpose, but it’s hard to put your passions and focus into multiple things at once. Getting that first show done and successful helped us. We’re in a really good place right now, and the weekend only proved that!

Party in The Park at Centennial Olympic Park

942144_10101446310853509_870058426_n

We got to just hang out, no practicing, just be together and enjoy what was going on around us and not stressing about the future. That included another big Atlanta concert, Party In The Park. They host them around the country, and for Atlanta GroupLove, Ellie Goulding and Passion Pit made their presence known! I’ve been listening to the latter two for a while, thanks to my brother for that, and it was neat finally getting to see them in concert. We met up with a great group of people, many who came to Dave’s concert the night before, and some Christine on Dave’s shoulders also happened. Considering he is already tall, I got way up there; what a cool view of the event that was!

photo (1)

The WHOLE weekend I also stuck to my “diet” of clean eating, no dairy/wheat/alcohol. It was tough, without a doubt, especially sitting through concerts and smelling beer (weird?) But, Dave even said he has been noticing some differences since I started being strict last Monday, so I’ll keep with it for a bit! That on top of fasting has to be doing something, right??

Oblivion

Final note of the weekend – Dave and I went to the movies. The last time we went was part of our first date!! For $12 a person, we saw the new Tom Cruise movie “Oblivion”. Some movies you just need to see on the big screen, and this is one of them. There are so many movies coming out within the next 2 weeks I want to see. Here is my list:

  • Iron Man 3
  • Great Gatsby
  • The Hangover Part III
  • Fast & Furious 6
  • Now You See Me

How was everyone’s weekend? Any movies I’m missing from the list? What’s the last concert you’ve gone to?

I'd love to hear from you!

