Fighting Fluorescents

A LITTLE OF LIFE OUTSIDE THE WORKPLACE

SPARTA!

Leave a comment

A few of my friends will get the joke to that title, butttt I want to share something very important! As some of you may or may not know, I was training for the Chicago marathon last year (2012) and it was going to be my second marathon within a year and I was super pumped. Well, of course everything isn’t  all daisies and butterflies, and my foot got this terrible stress fracture that really started acting up after a fantastic 12 mile run with my Team in Training members during a hot summer Saturday morning in Atlanta (fun, right?)

So, I had to stop training, sit my butt on the couch, and figure out “What now?” I was part of Team in Training, which raises money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Look at any big race and you are about 100% certain to see someone dressed in purple. That’s them.

When you commit to team in training, you have to do a race within a year if you drop, and I’ve been having a really hard time getting back into running. Well, not ME per-se, but my knee. It’s been killing for 2 months and will not stop, darn knee! So, I needed something simple, and out falls the Spartan Sprint Race from the volunteer fundraising heaven. I’ve already raised the minimum for the race which is in a month, and I can do three miles… I hope!

spartan-sprint-obstacle-course-race

So, check out my TNT (Team in Training) page and the Spartan Race. Does anyone else out there plan on going? I’ll be running the Sunday one, March 10th. SPARTA! Oh, and I’m selling pretty cool koozies for $2 if interested!

I'd love to hear from you!

